The Right to Farm- Michigans current battle.

Ok I just sat here for the last two hours writing all of the reasons I disagree with this ruling.

Then I deleted it.

You see, after reading the law (ACT 93 of 1981, Michigan Right to Farm Act) and pouring over the ruling GAAMP for new or expanding livestock facilities, I came to two conclusions.

First. it doesn’t apply 99% of the people who think it affects them. Under the definitions laid out in the law, you are still protected based on the history of the land use. If your property was a farm and previously (ever) had more livestock on it than you do today, the site selection issue does not apply to you. Ask your attorney.

Second. Even though I think that this committee is kowtowing to big ag 100% one this issue, being wrong headed and acting in direct opposition to the intent of the Right to Farm Act of 1981, and intentionally throwing roadblocks in front of the local food movement; they are 100% in compliance with written law in doing so. Read them…maybe you can find an angle I don’t see.

That said, it doesn’t mean you shouldn’t fight.

Civil Disobedience can and should happen.

People who can afford it should take legal action against the committee.

The State Legislature should be called upon to amend the law on behalf of small farmers and change the regulatory commissions boundaries so as to prevent future encroachments on the peoples will and legislatures intent.

And everyone who cares should take advantage of the information provided in the GAAMP and tell the entire commission what you think of their decision.

Here is the contact information for the entire commission.

Dr. Wendy Powers-Chair
MSU – Dept. of Animal Science and Biosystems
and Agricultural Engineering
2209G Anthony Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824-1225
(517) 614-8207
wpowers@msu.edu

Judy Allen
Michigan Township’s Association
512 Westshire Drive
Lansing, MI 48917
(517) 321-6467
(517) 321-8908 – FAX
Judy@michigantownships.org

James Clift
Michigan Environmental Council
602 West Ionia Street
Lansing, MI 48933
(517) 487-9539
(517) 487-9541 – FAX
james@environmentalcouncil.org

Michelle Crook, P.E.
Michigan Dept. of Agriculture and Rural Development
P. O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 284-5625
(517) 335-3329 – FAX
crookm@michigan.gov

Brian Culham
Michigan Dept. of Environmental Quality, Air Quality Division
P. O. Box 30473
Lansing, MI 48909 7973
(517) 284-6633
culhamb@michigan.gov

Suzanne Reamer
NRCS – Environmental Engineer
3001 Coolidge Rd., Suite 250
East Lansing, MI 48823-6321 cell: 517-290-6145
suzanne.reamer@mi.usda.gov

Samuel C. Hines
Executive Vice President
Michigan Pork Producers Assn.
3515 West Road, Suite B
East Lansing, MI 48823
517/853-3782
hines@mipork.org

Matthew Kapp
Michigan Farm Bureau
P. O. Box 30960
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 323-7000
mkapp@michfb.com

Steve Mahoney
Michigan Dept. of Agriculture and Rural Development
P. O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 284-5620
(517) 335-3329 – FAX
mahoneys@michigan.gov

Gerald May
MSU Extension Agriculture & Natural Resources Educator
214 E. Center Street
Ithaca, MI 48847
(989) 875-5233
(989) 875-5289 – FAX
mayg@msu.edu

Ken Nobis
Mich. Milk Producers Assn.
1531 N. Lowell Road
St. Johns, MI 48879
(989) 224-6170
nobis@mimilk.com

William Renn
Michigan Township’s Assn.
6206 Campbell Road
Pigeon, MI 48755
(989) 553-4005
chanrenn@avci.net

Bruce Washburn
Michigan Dept. of Environmental Quality,
Water Resource Division 7953 Adobe Road
Kalamazoo, MI 49009-5025
(269) 567-3500
(269) 567-9440 – FAX
washburnb2@michigan.gov

Andy Welden
County Government
1900 E. Hastings Lake Road
Jonesville, MI 49250
(517) 398-0973 andywelden@comcast.net

Wayne Whitman
Michigan Dept. of Agriculture and Rural Development
P. O. Box 30017
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 284-5618
(517) 335-3329 – FAX
whitmanw@michigan.gov

Oh and if you like the tickle of smoke being blown up your backside, here is the vice chair telling you how restricting smaller farms benefits everyone. Thanks for looking out jerk.

MDARD

This entry was posted in Aquaponics, Beekeeping, Chickens, Community Supported Agriculture, DIYFS articles, ducks, Goats, homesteading, Housing, Livestock, News and politics, Organic, Pasture Rotation, Permaculture, Pigs, rabbits, Urban Gardens, worms. Bookmark the permalink.